Brix on The Fox
260 S. Washington Street
Carpentersville, IL 60110
The building was constructed around 1888 for the Illinois Condensing Company later renamed the Borden Condensed Milk Company. The main event space in The BRIX used to be the living area for cows. The building was converted to other use around 1920 and has had several owners since then. The exterior and interior fell into disrepair.
The building was purchased by OTTO Engineering in 2014. OTTO has had extensive experience returning dilapidated historic buildings to their historic condition. The BRIX is the latest of these restorations. The Borden Condensed Milk Company building was constructed using historic “Haeger Yellow Brick” which adds to its significance. An extensive renovation was completed to the exterior to bring the façade and interior brick to its original appearance.